Breaking News

President Akufo-Addo Swears into Office Thirty One (31) Members of the Council of State

President Akufo-Addo has sworn into office thirty one (31) members of the 8th Council of State of the 4th Republic at a ceremony in the Jubilee House Accra, the seat of the nation’s presidency. In his remarks during the ceremony, the president indicated that he looks forward to very much working with a Council that will continue to offer him honest advice based on unvarnished truth.

Whiles speaking; he said, “I look forward to working with a Council that will help me deepen our democracy and help enhance the quality of our governance and I look forward to a Council that will help me deliver a prosperous Ghana,” he added.

According to the 1992 constitution of Ghana, Members of the Council of State have the mandate to advise the president on national issues and governance. ”Membership of the Council of State consists of a former Chief Justice of Ghana, a former Chief of Defense Staff, and a former Inspector General of Police”. The national house of chiefs is part of the body, as well as all the elected representatives in the 16 administrative regions of Ghana. See the images below!

About swagofafrica

Check Also

The Appointment Committee Vetted Finance Minister Nominee Ken Ofori-Atta Yesterday

The Appointment Committee of the 8th Parliament on Thursday, 25th March 2021 started the process …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.